Tuesday, June 18, 2024

upsc full form | about upsc

What is UPSC – UPSC Full Name

The leading hiring organisation for the Indian government is the Union Public Service Commission. The Union of India’s Armed Forces as well as the All India Services, Central Services, and Cadres are all subject to recruitment by the UPSC.

The Indian Administrative Service, Indian Police Service, Indian Foreign Service, Indian Revenue Service, etc. are some of the services for which the UPSC recruits applicants.

UPSC Definition

The UPSC is officially known as the Union Public Service Commission. Candidates can visit the civil services exam page to learn more about the UPSC exam.

For 24 positions with the Central and State Governments of India, the UPSC holds a national-level examination.

The Indian Constitution requires the UPSC to select individuals to the Central Services Group A and B and All India Services, as well as to create and maintain testing procedures for these recruitments with input from other departments.

In addition to this, UPSC is contacted regarding issues concerning personnel transfers and promotions, as well as any disciplinary issues involving a civil servant acting in a civil role.

On all days when the central government is in operation, the Union Public Service Commission is open from 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM.

Candidates are urged not to call the UPSC’s operational helplines for various tests unless their questions about the procedure cannot be answered online, despite the fact that they are staffed anytime a specific application process is active.

distinction between the UPSC and IAS

Although UPSC and IAS are separate organisations, they are frequently mixed together. The central government department in charge of holding the Civil Services Examination (CSE) is known as UPSC, or Union Public Service Commission. A nationwide competitive exam called the CSE is used to select candidates for positions in a number of government agencies, including the Indian Administrative Service (IAS).

Along with the Indian Foreign Service (IFS) and the Indian Police Service (IPS), the IAS is one of India’s three All India Services (AIS). The IAS is India’s top civil service, and its members are in charge of running both the state and federal governments.

The primary distinction between UPSC and IAS is that the former is a company, whilst the latter is a service. Although UPSC administers the CSE, it does not proactively seek out IAS candidates. Instead, a merit list of candidates is compiled using the CSE, and only a select number of those people are recruited to the IAS.

What tests does the UPSC hold to select candidates for the civil service?

  1. Engineering Services Exam (ESE)
  2. Civil Services Exam (CSE).
  3. Exam for Indian Forestry Services (IFoS).
  4. Exam for Central Armed Police Forces (CAPF).
  5. (IES/ISS) stands for Indian Economic Service and Indian Statistical Service.
  6. Exam for both geologists and geoscientists combined.
  7. Medical Combined Services (CMS).
  8. SCRA stands for Special Class Railway Apprentices Exam.
  9. For the purpose of choosing an Assistant Commandant (Executive) in the CISF, there will be a limited departmental competitive examination.

Related Post

Mastering Cricket Betting: Key Insights to Elevate Your Experience on Cricket Bet 9

Cricket Bet 9 unlocks an exhilarating dimension to the beloved sport, offering enthusiasts the chance to engage with the game on a deeper level...

Skills That Will Help You Seek A Job

Considering today’s job market and competition, seeking a job can be a difficult task. Especially if you are a non-graduate or do not have...

Jackpot Journey: How To Choose The Best Online Slot Machines

In the vast world of online casinos, slot machines stand out as one of the most popular games. With their colorful themes, exciting sounds,...